Saturday, April 18, 2009

St. Joe's Nivins wins Geasey Award and MVP!

Ahmad Nivins Receives the Geasey Award as the Big 5 Player of the Year

Tasheed Carr earns All-Big 5 Second Team honors.

PENNSAUKEN, N.J. - Saint Joseph's senior Ahmad Nivins received the Robert Geasey Award as the Most Outstanding Player in the Philadelphia Big 5, at the annual Herb Good Basketball Club Dinner on Monday, April 13, at The Savoy.

It marks the second year in a row that Saint Joseph's had the Geasey winner as Pat Calathes was the co-recipient in 2007-08. It marks the 13th time in history that a Saint Joseph's has earned the award, joining the likes of former SJU greats Pat Carroll (2005), Jameer Nelson (2004, 2003), Marvin O'Connor (2001) and Rashid Bey (1997, 1996). Rounding out the list of Hawks to win the Geasey Award were Jeffery Clark (1982), Cliff Anderson (1967), Steve Courtin (1964), Jim Lynam (1963) and Joe Spratt (1959).

Nivins had previously won the Player of the Year Award in the Atlantic 10 after putting together one of the top statistical seasons for a Hawk player.

Nivins topped the team with 19.2 points and 11.7 rebounds, to become the first Hawk since Dwayne Jones in 2005-06 to average a double-double. He shot 61.7 percent from the field, the best number in the Atlantic 10, and became just the second player in history to lead the league in that category for three consecutive years.

The 6-9 senior shot 78.7 percent from the foul line while making more free throws (200) than any player in the A-10 attempted. Saint Joseph's senior Tasheed Carr is an All-Big 5 Second Team selection. The 6-4 guard was second on the team in scoring with a 14.8 average, while shooting a team-best 40.8 percent from 3-point range. Joining Nivins on the first team were Dionte Christmas (Temple), Dante Cunningham (Villanova), Rodney Green (La Salle)and Scottie Reynolds (Villanova). The second team consisted of Carr, Lavoy Allen (Temple), Dwayne Anderson (Villanova), Ryan Brooks (Temple), Corey Fisher (Villanova) and Reggie Redding

Ahmad Nivins Named Hawks' MVP at Awards Banquet

Hilliard and Brown are co-recipients of Most Improved Award April 17, 2009

SPRINGFIELD, PA. - Senior Ahmad Nivins was presented with the John P. Hilferty Memorial Award, given to the Most Valuable Player of the Saint Joseph's basketball team at the 54th annual SJU Men's Basketball Awards Banquet held at Drexelbrook Catering. It marks the second time that he's won the award, with 2007 being the previous honor. Nivins capped off an outstanding career by leading the team with 19.2 points and 11.7 rebounds, while earning Player of the Year honors from both the Atlantic 10 Conference and the Philadelphia Big 5. He was an Associated Press Honorable Mention All-America selection and finished his career ranked third all-time in scoring (1,789) and sixth in rebounding (955). Nivins set the school record for career field goal percentage with 62.7 percent. Junior C.J. Brown and sophomore Idris Hillard were co-recipients of the Robert F. O'Neill Award as the team's Most Improved while junior Garrett Williamson received the George Senesky Memorial Academic Award for outstanding academic achievement. Senior Tasheed Carr and manager Lance Barron each received the Daniel J. Cummins, Jr. Award for spirit. Senior Edwin Lashley was the recipient of the William F. Maher Memorial Award for loyalty.

The Patrick D. O'Pake Memorial Award for the team's Unsung Hero was awarded to managers Dan DeCarlo and Ben Wisniewski. The William J. Bennett Memorial Award, recognizing dedication and service to SJU basketball, was given to manager Michael Kehoe, Hawk mascot Tim Klarich, as well as Peggy Kowalski and the Penn Athletics Staff. The Michael J. Conway Memorial Award for a person who has given back to the University was presented to former player John Smith '81.

Photo of Ahmad Nivins by Sideline Photos, LLC

No comments:

Post a Comment